Mercure Grand Hotel Seef, Bahrain

 Mercure Grand Hotel Seef is one of couple of hotels that I could recommend for shopping fanatics when traveling to Bahrain. It’s placed in the strategic shopping region of Seef and within a walking distance to two shopping malls and a 5 minutes drive to the biggest mall in Bahrain, City Center. I’ve decided to give it a shot and try it since I was traveling with my family and I’ve heard that it has a good reputation for being family-friendly and keeping a low profile on the alcoholic consumables and the party scene. The drive-thru of the hotel is very very small and the dedicated parking area is limited. Yet you can find a parking in the area surrounding the hotel. for the bell-boy service, you can consider yourself lucky if you found someone around to carry your stuff.

At check-in, it was bit of chaotic since only two attendants were available, yet their attention and dedication to your needs was absent. They had a hard time attending to checking patrons and answering phone calls and issuing invoices. There’s a need for improvement in that field.

I have made my reservation through their official website, Accor Hotels, so that my frequent guest points would be accounted for and enjoy my tier benefits (I was Gold at that time). Yet, when checking-in and presenting my Gold card, no recognition was received from staff and no benefits were presented for welcoming a frequent guest of their franchise. It did let me down.

My reservation was of a deluxe room that had a living room and kitchenette. This is how it looks like. Now notice that it’s nicely decorated and it’s pretty welcoming. There is a dining table with around 4 seats and a fully-prepared kitchenette, mini-stove and a microwave. Yet, I didn’t enjoy the seats in the living room as they were very rough and hard to get used to. The king-sized bed was a bit smaller than the regular expected size and the pillows were a bit lean. The bathroom is very nice and I truly enjoyed the shower glass box with the rainforest type of shower head. The only let-down of the room was having the old CRT TV in the bedroom. The living room had an LCD (around 40 inches or so). We didn’t try their room service so I can’t have a say about that. The breakfast was average and no omelet chef was available on-site to prepare for us our choice of eggs. He didn’t bother to attend till someone complained and a staffer had to go and call in the chef. I found that not acceptable for a hotel of their class.

My only issue was getting someone in the reception desk to attend to your needs. They always seemed busy and out of breath. All in general, this is not a 5 star hotel, if it claims to. The price is pretty high for its class, yet the comfort you get is worth most of it. There’s a big margin for improvement in service and staff training to attend to the patrons’ needs. I haven’t received any email from Accor Hotels requesting my feedback regarding this stay or any previous stay and I do find that careless from them to seek your customer’s feedback. I would recommend it only for family with a craving for shopping.

One thought on “Mercure Grand Hotel Seef, Bahrain

  1. Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights and thought the same. I though the hotel itself (the room and the facilities) was great, worthy of the 5 stars, but the staff were invisible. It seemed like they didn’t have enough. And getting anything done from reception was a task. 3 star service at best, which was a shame. Will not go back.

Leave a Reply

