Sheraton Khalidiya Hotel, Abu Dhabi

Last week of November, I had a meeting in Abu Dhabi. This is my 2nd time to visit Abu Dhabi, and I have to say that I didn’t explore anything there at all when I went there for the first time. We were offered a couple of decent corporate rates for other hotels, but I’ve decided to stick to my Starwood Preferred Guest Program and give this property a visit. I was given a good rate for a Preferred room which included a breakfast buffet, internet access at your room during the stay, access to the executive lounge for drinks and snacks and round-trip airport transportation. The hotel is located around 45 minutes away from AUH airport depending on the traffic in the city. The hotel is inconveniently located at a traffic light and the parking space is very limited, so for those who wish to rent a car and stay at this hotel, watch out. The area around the hotel is commercial, meaning the availability of all kinds of services and food outlets. You can walk around and explore it, but be careful of the traffic. People drive like madmen in the Gulf region, not excluding UAE. The reception of the hotel is located at the mezzanine level and I had a breezy check-in. I have requested express laundry service for ironing and pressing and the gentleman at the reception desk explained that the hotel doesn’t have laundry service and it’s outsourced. That was inconvenient for me, and he tried to fix it by sending in an ironing board and a steam iron. I was given a room was pretty far away from the lifts and I hate the trip to reach it.

The following shots are of the Preferred Guest room

The room furnishing was good and up to standards. I’ve checked the room service menu and like other properties of Starwood, the rates are a bit high for regular items such as sandwiches and finger food. I think Starwood should re-evaluate their pricing. What I didn’t like about the room was the bathroom. It was not up to standards at all. No shower box and the structure of the bathroom is old. The wired connection for internet didn’t work so I had to go wireless, which was fast enough though the signal was weak. I would recommend this hotel only for business travelers staying for a night or two at maximum. Otherwise, there are other hotels which are comfortably located next to malls and shopping centers.

2 thoughts on “Sheraton Khalidiya Hotel, Abu Dhabi

  1. Pingback: Sheraton Khalidiya, Abu Dhabi review - FlyerTalk Forums

  2. Pingback: Airport Hotel Lounge, AUH « LunarDream

Leave a Reply

