Crowne Plaza Diplomatic Area, Bahrain

After my arrival in Bahrain on Sept. 19th, I’ve headed straight to Gulf Hotel where my meeting is taking place. Of course, I’ve stopped by Sixt to pick up my reserved car and I was upgraded (I’m a gold status renter) from a Chevrolet Optra to a Kia Soul, a deformed version of Mini Copper. It looked funny but the car was equipped with blue-tooth, USB connection for iPod and etc. I didn’t mind it since I was only using it for my short transportation between the meeting, my hotel and the airport. After the meeting, went straight ahead to Crowne Plaza in the diplomatic area in Manama, a very prestigious area full of governmental buildings and located across from the main cornich road. I’ve checked in the Priority Club  cue line since I’m a platinum member. I’ve called ealier before arrival to make sure I get upgraded since platinum members receive complimentary upgrade according to availability and I didn’t want to miss on that! I was greeted with a cold cup of orange juice and been upgraded from standard room to Club floor room.

These rooms are newly renovated with parquet floor, large bathrooms, LCD TV screens and some extras on the side such as bathroom amnesties and free treat. I’ve arrived and found complimentary cookies, fruits, a bottle of mineral water and fresh orange juice, a pack of Oreo and a KDD mini orange juice pack. Now, that’s a treat. Here you can see the first shot of this room!

And this is the bathroom here, where it’s truly renovated with an installed shower-box.

After praying and settling down, I’ve connected my laptop to the offered LAN for the rooms and started browsing and doing some work. Over the past two hours, I’ve realized that I’m sweating! I’ve checked the A/C and it was set on around 15 and the fan was full!! I stopped right below the ceiling vent and noticed that there was some air draft coming out only when you’re standing below it!! Otherwise, it’s not reaching across the room. A quick call to the front desk and the maintenance guys came over and started working on for almost 45 minutes and this was around 5 PM now. I was tired, I was awake since like 4:45 AM in the morning to catch on the flight and attend the meeting at 09:30 and these guys wouldn’t finish! To cut the story short, the A/C is busted and I was moved to another room.

I’ve requested to placed in the same class and of smoking preference. Unfortunately, they didn’t have a smoking room at that time but told me to smoke in it anyway ! I had a fine stay there and I would love to check in there again! Can’t wait till Intercontinental re-opens its doors next year after the total renovation.

One thought on “Crowne Plaza Diplomatic Area, Bahrain

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Crowne Plaza Diplomatic Area, Bahrain « LunarDream -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

