Columbus Cafe: Good times

Whenever I feel like drinking a cup of coffee, my first pick would be Columbus cafe in Al-Fanar. This is the only coffee shop that I can call home.
American coffee there taste like American coffee (even though the cafe is French), unlike other coffee shops where American coffee taste like shit (Does Starbucks sound familiar?). The drinks are very typical and nothing to complain about since they have everything except Shisha LOL!
The cafe staff is very friendly and the atmosphere is cool. To justify my opinion, I even checked it out at around 9:30 AM to see what is it like in the morning.The same smile, the same attitude and the same good taste.The music is always laid back and mellow. In the morning they sometimes play Fairuz which I thought was pretty nice for a change in taste.The food is really good there and sometimes they run out of it because I see people usually eat there more than they drink! They even handout gifts sometimes (I got a logo sticker and a calendar-bookmark!!). The crowd is usually half foreign, half local, although you don’t get tired from seeing new faces every time you step by.I really enjoyed watching World Cup 2006 matches there because the crowd was just awesome .Although none of the existing coffee shops in kuwait use the customer rewards program for obvious reasons (mainly because our Kuwaiti boys can’t get tired from camping in every coffee shop all day long!), the European branch of Columbus in France applied the program. Next time I step by, I’ll check for it. In the meantime, skip on Starbucks!
Leave a Reply

