Must See JTV

I never mentioned this, but I’m a Japanese drama freak. I have to admit that Japanese drama is the only drama shows that I watch since like 4 years ago, or more like since Seinfeld re-runs are over and nothing is interesting anymore on TV. I’ve watched many good shows and some awful shows (I’ll mention the awful shows later in a special post) and after watching 2-4 shows, you’ll figure out the general format for a standard Japanese drama as usually requested from popular Japanese TV stations.
I watch drama shows as they come coded and subtitled all for free, thanks to subtitling fangroups like JTV, Studio Otto and Mugen and many other fansub groups I’ll list at the bottom of this post. Anyway, about 60-70% of the shows come in the 11-12 episodes formula. Many shows carry famous J-Pop songs as opening/ending title themes as an extra boost for viewer attention. Also, if you’re into the J-Pop scene, you’ll see many J-Pop artists starring in drama shows, since a lot have tried their luck in acting and found it as better way to launch their careers.
The following is what I can recommend to get you hooked into watching Japanese drama:

A place to get most of these shows (for free!) is D-Addicts. From there, you can go checking out other fangroups and see their projects.

Leave a Reply

